skip navigation

Classic Soccer

Classic soccer – Also known as competitive soccer, or "red league," features teams that have been formed in the late summer/early fall each year and play together for a seasonal year, which runs from Aug. 1 to July 31. Classic soccer begins with the U11 age division.  Find out how U.S. Youth Soccer is organized and various programs it provides. 

There are different levels of the classic program – East Central (EC), Wisconsin State League, & Midwest Regional League (MRL).

East Central (EC)
In our district, East Central (EC), there may be two to three levels of classic soccer at which a team can play. National is the highest and American may be divided into upper and lower divisions. (East Central clubs range as far north as Niagara including the Green Bay area, south to Fond du Lac, east along the Lakeshore, and west to New London and Winneconne.)

Wisconsin State League
There are three divisions of state league, Premier, First Division, and a Second Division where needed. There are generally 7 – 10 teams in Premiere and more in First Division. Teams must apply for state league in June and be accepted by a committee of the Wisconsin Youth Soccer Association (WYSA). The committee places teams in state league based upon their record in league play and at tournaments. Teams that finish below 2nd place in league play are usually not considered for placement in state league. State league is divided into two seasons – fall and spring. The fall season runs from the second week in September until the first week in November (although northern teams try to get their seasons completed by the third week in October). The spring season starts in early April and ends after the first week in June. State league games are played on weekends – generally one home and one away game each day. Depending on the number of teams in the league, the state league season could be completed in as few as four weekends. Teams are allowed to block out two or sometimes three weekends to compete in tournaments, which extends the season over a couple more weekends. The teams in state league tend to be concentrated around the Milwaukee, Madison, and Fox Valley regions of the state. Half of the games are at home.


Midwest Regional League (MRL)
To qualify to play in the MRL, the team must either win the Premier Division of Wisconsin State League or the Wisconsin State Championship title. There are two divisions of the MRL, the Premier Division and the First Division. League games are played in several states of the Midwest region.

A Player registration fee for both East Central and State League is $165-$215* which covers NSC membership fee, Flatgrass Tournament  and referee fees associated with the league games. Additional costs are incurred per team based on additional training and tournament fees. Please refer to each team’s prospectus for additional information.

*$165 for U16+ Girls age groups, $190 for U16+ Coed/Boys and $215 for U11-U15 Girls and Coed.  Payment plans are available.

Financial assistance is available. The form can be found by clicking on this link: Scholarship Application 

Olympic Developmental Program (ODP)
Throughout America, the Olympic Developmental Program is being offered for the players aspiring to maximize their potential!

About ODP

ODP Registration